The Captain Benjamin Littlefield house is a mid-19th century seaside farm and residence that was owned by multiple Block Island fishing families from the 1850s to 1970s. There is also a mid-20th century building used as a WWII bunker, fisherman's cottage, and an artist’s summer cottage and studio. It occupies a grassy 5.3 acre lot enclosed by stone walls and a wooden picket fence on the West side of Corn Neck Road. The property includes a well preserved Cape Cod style farmhouse that was started in 1852. The roof and architectural details have been restored in the twentieth century. The house has the typical window and door arrangement of four bays (door located just off center to the east), North kitchen ell extension, and unique overhanging porch roof design. Two small gabled dormers were added to the front (South) facade as well as on the North in 1892 by carpenter Anderson C. Rose. The house has the original field stone foundation. In 1994, the interior was restored and now includes two bedrooms and one bathroom. A restored 1 ½ story gable-roof studio/WWII bunker/cottage (1943) was converted into a two bedroom and one bathroom summer cottage. There are stonewalls on three sides of the property that date from the 1600s when the land was first divided by the original European settlers. The original two-seater outhouse is also located just south and west of the house.
Block Island is located in the Atlantic Ocean about 13 miles south of RI and is about 10 square miles. The Nature Conservancy named Block Island as one of twelve sites in its list of "The Last Great Places" in the Western Hemisphere.